Not-So-Happy Trails

17 Dec

I am a Wes Anderson fan. I like dry sarcastic humor, it is what I grew up with and is a trait that I am attempting to pass on to my children. So when I heard that Anderson was making a stop-motion movie of Roald Dahl’s book, Fantastic Mr. Fox, I made a note on my calendar.

Dahl is a wonderful author, his interpretation of what is good and evil in the world of children is perfect. The Witches is one of the greatest books ever, and I was sure that while the twisted irony in his book might be a bit much for my daughter, her best friend (who happens to love anything written by the famous British hermit) would be game for a trip to the movies. We made a date and the kids were stoked.

One of the best things about seeing a kid’s movie is the previews. Due to the language and the pure mayhem in the story of Fantastic Mr. Fox the movie got a PG rating. But what movie, besides Disney movies, gets a G rating? I was prepared for it. What I was not prepared for was the first trailer.

To Save a Life is about a kid who kills himself in a packed high school hallway. While I will not go into the “Great White Hope” rampage that I would love to go into over this movie, that is for another blog, I will go into a rampage about how inappropriate this trailer was for a room full of kids. First, the movie is PG-13 and has no place with a PG movie. Second, I found myself turning the heads of two 4-year-olds and talking loudly to them about their day as the trailer progressed with sexual content and fighting. WTF, or as Mr. Fox would say, “What the cuss?”

Take a look for your self:

Do you think young children, let’s say an 8-year-old should be exposed to this (I don’t know if most parents of 4-year-olds are dragging their kids to this movie instead of The Princess and the Frog?

I wanted to file a complaint, I wanted to walk out of the theater, but I stuck it out so that my kid could watch what I had already approved of. I just hope that my loud talk-over worked and the only thing that disturbed her was the lack of popcorn.

Leave a Reply

